Gertie’s Crepe Sew Along – I’m in!!

When Gertie announced her Crepe Sew Along, I already had the pattern onhand as I ordered it shortly after the release by Colette Patterns. My sewing mojo is slowly coming back, so a sewalong is just what I need. I am excited to learn new techniques from Gertie – such as fitting a muslin, adding an underlining, staying the neckline with organza, etc. The sew along will feature View 2 above with contrasting waistband/ties and a sweetheart neckline. I am leaning toward the scoop neckline of View 1 rather than a sweetheart….we’ll see once I cut out my muslin.

These two fabrics were ordered from Denver Fabrics as main fabric options for my dress. The large floral is a mediumweight stretch cotton poplin and the navy/cream cross-hatch print is a lightweight cotton…sort of between a voile and shirting. There are many prints that I love out there in the online fabric world, but I stayed realistic about which prints I can actually see myself wearing. These two fit the bill. I also made sure to choose apparel fabric with enough drape to be dress-appropriate.

I love both fabrics, but am thinking that the large floral might work better in a more structured dress rather than the wrap style of the Crepe pattern. I also think the diaganol pattern of the navy/cream fabric will be flattering (~slimming~) for the fuller skirt of the Crepe. Okay, I think I’ve talked myself into the navy/cream fabric…now to decide on what to use as the contrast waistband and ties. I can either go safe and keep the dress neutral with a solid navy, or I can do something more daring with another solid color or print. Hmmm….

I also need to pick up cotton batiste for the underlining, organza for the stay technique, etc. i’m exciting to get started!
Leave a Reply

