HUGE Pool Bag

My sister asked me to make a pool/beach bag. Her one request was that the finished bag be huge enough to hold all the neccessities for her family of four’s trip to the pool.

I knew that IKEA fabrics were the way to go, since my sister wanted a fun print and sturdy bag. Constanca inspired me with her beach bag made with the same Fredrika fabric. I drafted a pattern in a similar shape. For the interior, I used IKEA’s striped Sofia canvas and included a large pocket (12″x16″) and key fob. I added some interfacing to beef up the handles but did not add any to the body of the bag since I used the heavier fabrics.
The finished size is nearly 24″ x 36″! Yes, large enough for four towels, dry clothes, diapers, snacks, purse….or a couple of toddlers!
One thought on “HUGE Pool Bag

Leave a Reply

