Two shops to feed the addiction

Since I started sewing, I have found that building a fabric stash can be somewhat addictive. There are so many fun, modern prints and colors out there. Until recently, I did not know where to find some of these fabrics locally. (Which may or may not be a bad thing…speaking for my wallet)

My ultra-creative cousin told me about Sew to Speak in Columbus, OH. How fun..kid in a candy store kind of fun. I live two hours away, but during a recent business trip I carved out some time to stop in and drool. I could have spent all day just taking in the beautiful colors and patterns.

And right in my backyard, I discovered St. Theresa Textile Trove located in College Hill (Cincinnati), OH. What a find. The shop’s tagline is “Purveyors of the Exotic & Beautiful.” The shop is jam packed with unique fabrics – Japanese prints, batiks, oilcloth, African prints, Hawaiian barkcloth along with a small selection of Amy Butler, Joel Dewberry and Tina Givens fabrics. A nice feature is a treasure trunk full of fat quarters; what a great way to try some new fabrics. They also offer an extensive collection of buttons and beads. All of the unique beads make me want to take a jewelry making class.

I controlled myself in both places and only walked out with less than a yard total from each store and a few odds and ends. I am glad to find some local, independent shop owners to frequent.

Leave a Reply

